Adventists Among National Honors Recipients in Jamaica

Pastors Everett Brown, president of the Seventh-day Adventist Church in Jamaica and Aston Barnes, former treasurer of the West Indies Union were among 206 individuals who have been accorded national honors for 2018.

The appointments, which became effective on Jamaica’s Independence Day on Aug. 6, 2018, were presented to them by His Excellency, the Governor General of Jamaica, the Most Honorable Patrick Allen at Kings House on National Heroes Day, in Kingston, Jamaica, on Oct. 15, 2018.

Pastor Brown has been accorded the Order of Distinction in the rank of Commander for outstanding contribution to religion, while Elder Barnes received the Order of Distinction in rank of Officer for contribution to the Ministerial Fraternity and to Social Development, Welfare and Philanthropy in Jamaica.

“In accepting this award from the Government of Jamaica, I do so with a sense of humility,” said Brown. “I am fully cognizant of the fact that this national recognition is just a reflection of the many lives that my service and ministry has touched through the opportunities given by the church to serve members and the wider society.”

Pastor Brown has served the church for more than 33 years in pastoral ministry. Over this period, he has served in the Central Jamaica Conference (CJC) as district pastor and evangelist, youth ministries director, executive secretary and president. He has been serving as president of the church since 2010.

Pastor Everett Brown, president of the church in Jamaica poses with wife after receiving a national award. Courtesy of Phillip Castell/JAMU

Brown has led the CJC in its transition of reorganization in 2002, which has led to the tremendous growth that has taken place in all areas of the conference including the development of its camp site in Camp Verley and the Willowdene Group of schools.

He also serves as Vice-Chairman for the Bible Society of the West Indies, and is a voluntary chaplain for the Jamaica Constabulary Force, and a Justice of the Peace for the parish of St. Catherine.